My Pledge to You

Hey all! A bit of housekeeping on a Friday night as we head into the holiday weekend. I’ve recently activated pledges on my Substack. What that means is you can make a pledge now and then you’ll only be charged if I turn on paid subscriptions. Two important things:

Hey all! A bit of housekeeping on a Friday night as we head into the holiday weekend.

I’ve recently activated pledges on my Substack. What that means is you can make a pledge now and then you’ll only be charged if I turn on paid subscriptions. Two important things:

1) I am a long ways off from turning on paid subscriptions. There needs to be an audience big enough to warrant that transaction, and so I’ve set that at 1,000 subscribers. I’m at about a quarter of that number right now, and while I’m grateful for every subscriber I have, I don’t expect to skyrocket to 1,000 subscribers overnight.

2) Even if I do reach 1,000 subscribers, there will be updates to let everyone know that a paid subscription tier is coming. I’m not simply going to flip a switch without providing any notice.

If you want to pledge a subscription level, awesome! I really appreciate it. But I don’t expect anyone to do that. My goal right now is to keep producing newsletters that people want to read.